Physicians Formula The Healthy Foundation Review


Happy Tuesday everyone! It has been a long time since I posted last and I hope everyone had a happy and healthy holiday season. I had heard a bit of buzz about Physicians Formula coming out with some new products. They are a drugstore brand that always interests me with some of their gimicky products (remember mood boosting love blush anyone?) and saw that they FINALLY put out a foundation product with more than two similar shades. I purchased this product directly from their site. They were having a promo where if you and a friend exchanged emails you would get 50% off your purchase so I recruited my boyfriend to score the deal. But they do carry Physicians Formula at CVS, Walgreens, and Walmart where they normally are on some sort of promotional deal.

Ff bottle

This foundation retails for $14.95 for 1FL OZ/ 30 ml of product and comes in a nice and heavy glass bottle with a LARGE doe foot applicator. It comes in 16 shades and has an SPF of 20. I had a fun time trying to judge my shade from pictures online and I went with MN3 with I feel is still a bit too warm for me during the winter months, but I can correct it with a lighter powder. This foundation claims to “A long-wearing, buildable, and breathable foundation that provides lightweight, medium coverage with a healthy, satin finish. It says it is Hypoallergenic, Fragrance-Free, Paraben-Free, Gluten Free, Dermatologist Approved, Non-Comedogenic, Clinically Tested, Cruelty Free, and Vegan. Compatible with all skin types and featuring our exclusive Brightening Complex and Hyaluronic Acid to hydrate, brighten and improve the appearance of skin tone. Added boost of Vitamins A, C & E provides a flawless, healthy coverage.” It’s star ingredients: Brightening Complex (Chinese Wu-Zhu-Yu Extract), Hyaluronic Acid (Sodium Salts), Vitamin A, C& E Antioxidant Blend, Protective SPF 20. WHEW!

Upon opening the foundation it does have a scent of like a brown sugarry smell. It doesn’t bother me but there is something there, The doe foot applicator holds quite a bit of product and I am able to cover my face in one dip into the bottle. This formula provides a light coverage that evens out my skin tone but doesn’t have much coverage. Even with a second layer I can only get it to maybe a light medium.

(Left is one layer blended, right is two layers blended)

This foundation also doesn’t do much to disguise my pores. It provides a more dewy finish and provides the moisture my skin needs during the bitter winter days. It melts into my skin and feels so light I forget I’m wearing any foundation and didn’t emphasize my skin’s texture even after a full day of wear. It does last for a full 5 hours (with powdering) before it starts to cake up in my smile lines and the oils in my face start to eat away at it. I have been on a medication that has changed my skin from super oily acne prone to combination and acne prone. I do have to blot at least once when I wear this foundation towards the end of my day. But during the five hours of wear my skin looks plump and healthy like the name suggests. This foundation reminds me more of a tinted moisturizer than a foundation.

Ingredients: Active Ingredients: Octinoxate 3% Inactive Ingredients: Water/Eau, Cyclopentasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Isododecane, Butylene Glycol, Acrylates/Polytrimethylsiloxymethacrylate Copolymer, Propanediol, Cyclohexasiloxane, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Isodecyl Neopentanoate, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Magnesium Sulfate, Schinziophyton Rautanenii (Mongongo) Kernel Oil, Phenoxyethanol, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylene Brassylate, Dimethicone/Bis-Isobutyl PPG-20 Crosspolymer, Silica, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Evodia Rutaecarpa (Wu-Zhu-Yu) Fruit Extract, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Cellulose Gum, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Aluminum Hydroxide, Retinyl Palmitate, Rhodiola Rosea Root Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, BHT, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Tocopherol, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).

Final Thoughts: 3.5/5 This foundation make my skin look plump and fresh as a daisy but it doesn’t last as long as some of my other foundations or provide much coverage. It is really a your skin but better formula. I like this for my more natural days or days I’m having good skin days. It also played well with my skin and didn’t clog any pores or clog break outs.

Thank you for reading and please follow me 🙂 to never miss a post!

Tinkerbell

5 thoughts on “Physicians Formula The Healthy Foundation Review

  1. Hmm, sounds like too many chemicals for me, although I really like when foundations have sunscreen so I wouldn’t have to add that too. I think it’s good to show how it affects a tattoo, since that gives some sort of reliable gauge for coverage–good idea!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. For some reason I’ve never thought of that. I think I’m going to include it with every foundation review from now on.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Great! If you do, then using powder with the foundation can help it set and cover. I have some Dermablend that isn’t the greatest although it was very expensive and is supposed to be for covering, but there are tutorials out there on how to cover a tattoo with basic foundation and powder.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment